Lillian Bassman’s Lens


    Are you familiar with the film Midnight in Paris? Well…I am one of those people who feel like I was born in the wrong era. I love old photos, antique furniture, vintage clothes and most importantly black and white film. Perhaps, that is why I am so attracted to photography and its history. When you photograph something you are capturing a moment that will never happen again. Yup…that’s me trying to stop time!  I just came across these images by late photographer Lillian Bassman and her use of light and shadow leaves her audience wanting to see more. Her work titled “Lillian Bassman: Lingerie,” will be on display in New York at The Staley-Wise Gallery until May 26.

In the meantime, check out this slideshow featuring some of the work that will be display at The Staley-Wise Gallery.

